Just about everyone has an opinion about most things. We seek peoples opinions all the time. You may want to know a friend’s opinion of a movie that you are thinking of seeing. A teacher may ask you your opinion of a homework assignment. A co-worker may want to know what you think of a job related suggestion to improve sales. An acquaintance may seek your opinion on a political candidate. There are several expressions that can be used when asking someone’s opinion. Look at the examples below.

 

English Expressions

 

Expression

Response
What did you think of ( … the movie)?   I thought it was boring.
Do you concur with ( …the board’s

recommendations)?

  Yes, but with minor reservations.
What is your opinion of ( … the president’s

proposed economic package)?

  I don’t think it will help the economy  too much.
Do you agree with ( … Pam’s proposal)?   I can’t say that I do, I think it will be ineffective.

 

After an opinion is given, either you agree with it or not. Look at the expressions below to indicate agreement or disagreement.         

Question/Statement

Expression      A- Agree, D- Disagree
I think classical music is boring to listen to.   A: You said it.

D:  I couldn’t disagree more.

The president needs to raise taxes to solve

the problem.

  A: I think you’re right.

D: I don’t think that’s the answer at all.

Abortion is nothing less than murder.   A: I believe so too.

D: In my opinion, ( .. abortion is nothing more

than freedom of choice).

I think the president’s economic policies are

good?

  A: I’ll go along with that.

D: Well, we don’t see eye to eye on that.

I think studying English is a waste of time.   A: I’m with you.

D: I beg to differ.

I like this red dress. How about you?   A: It work’s for me.

D: I don’t really think (… that red is your color).

GONE WITH THE WIND is the best movie

ever made

  A: I’ll buy that.

D: I disagree, (… STARS WARS was much better).

English Dialogue

Students should work together in pairs and read the following dialogue, one student reading one part, the other student reading the other. Note the expressions used in the dialogue and the progression of the conversation. The dialogue can be used as a model to have similar conversations.

 

Alice: What did you think of the movie, Peter?

Peter: I thought it was boring.

Alice: Really? I loved it. Why did you think it was boring?

Peter: It was too predictable. You knew what would happen in the end. The same old thing- boy meets girl, boy

fights with girl, boy marries girl.

Peter: Did you like the sound track of the movie?

Alice: No, I hated it. It was too loud and too hard rock for me. What did you think of it?

Peter: I thought it was great, but then, I like hard rock.

 

After reading, close your book and tell your partner a summary of the dialogue. Then switch and have your partner tell his or her summary. Start like this: This dialogue is about a man and a woman giving opinions about …This may seem silly, since you both already know what the dialogue is about, but the purpose is to practice using your English, not to give information or test your reading skills.

Conversation Activities

1. Pair work- discussion

     Do you agree or disagree with your partner about the following topics? Discuss these topics with your partner

and give reasons why you agree or disagree.

  • watching golf is exciting
  • governments should spend less money on social services
  • tests are a poor method of assessing students acquired knowledge
  • watching too much TV is bad for a child’s mind
  • children should be seen and not heard

 

2. Pair work- discussion

What are you and your partner’s opinions about these topics? Discuss them. Give detailed reasons for your

opinions.

          The acting skills of Tom Hanks                    The movie Titanic    

       Your partner’s hair style                                The WWF        

                              

       Madonna                                                          Plays by Shakespeare 

 

       Punk rock music                                              Your partner’s attire                                              

          Using cell phones while driving                    Euthanasia (mercy killings)

                  

      

         The death penalty                                             Your English teacher

                                                                                          (don’t be rude)

                                                    

          The honesty of politicians                             Exploration of space–   worth while or not

             in your country